The Puces of Saint-Ouen are a vast territory to explore. A small enclave signalled by a brick red hanging on 85, rue des Rosiers, the Biron market was created in 1925. At the time, rag dealers and junk shop owners, in a hurry to leave their premises on today’s boulevard des Maréchaux, created an association in Saint-Ouen and obtained an agricultural site for rent. Situated between avenue Michelet, the rue des Rosiers and the rue Biron to which its owes its name, the market soon saw the first hard stalls of the Puces popping up along two aisles in a hair pin shape.
From the beginning, the antiquarians of the Biron market have distinguished themselves with goods referring to art history, such as ancient artefacts and restored pieces. From one generation of dealers to another, the stalls keep on being passed on with the same wish to perpetuate this recognised sense of expertise.